World Fantasy Convention

1976 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1976 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in New York, NY, was chaired by Thom Anderson.
Judges were Charles Collins, Basil Copper, Gordon R. Dickson, Stuart David Schiff and Gahan Wilson.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Fritz Leiber


winner Richard Matheson, Bid Time Return
Stephen King, 'Salem's Lot

Short Fiction

winner Fritz Leiber, "Belsen Express"
David Drake, "The Barrow Troll"
Brian Lumley, "Born of the Winds"
Manly Wade Wellman, "The Ghastly Priest Doth Reign"


winner Avram Davidson, The Enquiries of Doctor Eszterhazy
Harlan Ellison, Deathbird Stories
Frank Belknap Long, The Early Long
E. Hoffmann Price, Far Lands Other Days


winner Frank Frazetta
George Barr
Stephen Fabian
Edward Gorey
Tim Kirk

Special Award - Professional

winner Donald M. Grant for Donald M. Grant, Publisher
Arkham House
Willis Conover for Lovecraft At Last
L. Sprague de Camp for Lovecraft: A Biography
Frank Belknap Long for HPL: Dreamer on the Nightside
Donald A. Wollheim for DAW Books

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Karl Edward Wagner, David Drake & Jim Groce for Carcosa
Gerry de la Ree
Harry O. Morris
George Scithers
Roy A. Squires
Robert Weinberg
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1975 Awards Page | Forward to 1977 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.