World Fantasy Convention

1977 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1977 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Los Angeles, CA, was chaired by Dennis Rickard.
Judges were Robert Bloch, David Drake, Harlan Ellison, Charles L. Grant and Robert Weinberg.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Ray Bradbury


winner William Kotzwinkle, Doctor Rat
Ramsey Campbell, The Doll Who Ate His Mother
Gordon R. Dickson, The Dragon and the George
Michael Moorcock, The Sailor on the Seas of Fate
John Steinbeck, The Acts of King Arthur and His Noble Knights
Karl Edward Wagner, Dark Crusade

Short Fiction

winner Russell Kirk, "There's a Long, Long Trail A-Winding"
Ramsey Campbell, "The Companion"
Dennis Etchison, "It Only Comes Out At Night"
Fritz Leiber, "Dark Wings"
Robert Sheckley, "What Is Life?"
Karl Edward Wagner, "Two Suns Setting"


winner Kirby McCauley, ed., Frights
Ray Bradbury, Long After Midnight
Edward Bryant, Cinnabar
Ramsey Campbell, The Height of the Scream
Ramsey Campbell, ed., Superhorror
Lin Carter, ed., Flashing Swords! #3


winner Roger Dean
George Barr
Stephen Fabian
Tim Kirk
Michael Whelan

Special Award - Professional

winner Roy & Shelley Torgeson for Alternate World Recordings
Arkham House
Ballantine Books
DAW Books
Edward L. Ferman

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Stuart David Schiff
Jonathan Bacon
Arnie Fenner
Nils Hardin
Garry Hoppenstand
Harry O. Morris
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1976 Awards Page | Forward to 1978 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.