World Fantasy Convention

1979 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1979 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Providence, RI, was chaired by Bob Booth.
Judges were Poul Anderson, Terry Carr, Dennis Etchison, Elizabeth A. Lynn and Roy A. Squires.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Jorge Luis Borges


winner Michael Moorcock, Gloriana
Les Daniels, The Black Castle
Charles L. Grant, The Sound of Midnight
Stephen King, The Stand
Tanith Lee, Night's Master

Short Fiction

winner Avram Davidson, "Naples"
Michael Bishop, "Within the Walls of Tyre"
Avram Davidson, "A Good Night's Sleep"
Charles L. Grant, "Hear Me Now, My Sweet Abbey Rose"
Larry Niven, "The Magic Goes Away"


winner Charles L. Grant, ed., Shadows
Avram Davidson, The Redward Edward Papers
Stephen King, Night Shift
Fritz Leiber, Heroes and Horrors
Gerald W. Page, ed., Year's Best Horror VI
Karl Edward Wagner, Night Winds


winner Alicia Austin
winner Dale Enzenbacher
Stephen Fabian
Michael Whelan

Special Award - Professional

winner Edward L. Ferman for F&SF
Donald M. Grant for Donald M. Grant, Publisher

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Donald H. Tuck for The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy
Paul C. Allen for Fantasy Newsletter
Pat Cadigan & Arnie Fenner for Shayol
W. Paul Ganley for Weirdbook
Stuart David Schiff for Whispers &, Whispers Press

Convention Award

winner Kirby McCauley
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1978 Awards Page | Forward to 1980 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.