World Fantasy Convention

1981 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1981 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Berkeley CA, was chaired by Jack Rems and Jeff Frane.
Judges were Paul C. Allen, C.J. Cherryh, Gardner Dozois, Donald M. Grant and Arthur W. Saha.

Life Achievement Winners

winner C.L. Moore


winner Gene Wolfe, The Shadow of the Torturer
Parke Godwin, Firelord
Stephen King, The Mist
Peter Straub, Shadowland
Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, Ariosto

Short Fiction

winner Howard Waldrop, "The Ugly Chickens"
Suzy McKee Charnas, "Unicorn Tapestry"
T.E.D. Klein, "Children of the Kingdom"
Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, "Cabin 33"


winner Kirby McCauley, ed., Dark Forces
Ramsey Campbell, ed., New Terrors 1
Orson Scott Card ed., Dragons of Light
Harlan Ellison, Shatterday
Charles L. Grant, ed., Shadows 3
Bill Pronzini, ed., Mummy! A Chrestomathy of Crypt-ology


winner Michael Whelan
Alicia Austin
Thomas Canty
Don Maitz
Rowena Morrill
Gahan Wilson

Special Award - Professional

winner Donald A. Wollheim for DAW Books
Terry Carr for anthologies
Lester del Rey for Del Rey/Ballantine
Edward L. Ferman for F&SF
David G. Hartwell for editing
Tim Underwood & Chuck Miller for Underwood - Miller

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Pat Cadigan & Arnie Fenner for Shayol
Charles de Lint & Charles Saunders for Triskell Press & Dragonfields
W. Paul Ganley for Weirdbook
Stephen Jones & David Sutton for Fantasy Tales

Convention Award

winner Gahan Wilson
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1980 Awards Page | Forward to 1982 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.