World Fantasy Convention

1983 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1983 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Chicago, IL, was chaired by Robert Weinberg.
Judges were Bob Booth, John Coyne, Sharon Jarvis, Alan Ryan and Elizabeth Wollheim.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Roald Dahl


winner Michael Shea, Nifft the Lean
Charles L. Grant, The Nestling
George R.R. Martin, Fevre Dream
Thomas Tessier, Phantom
Gene Wolfe, The Sword of the Lictor


winner Charles L. Grant, "Confess the Seasons"
winner Karl Edward Wagner, "Beyond Any Measure"
Charles L. Grant, "Night's Swift Dragons"
Stephen King, "The Breathing Method"
Fritz Leiber, "Horrible Imaginings"

Short Fiction

winner Tanith Lee, "The Gorgon"
Greg Bear, "Petra"
Dennis Etchison, "Deathtracks"
Michael Swanwick, "The Man Who Met Picasso"
Steve Rasnic Tem, "Firestorm"


winner Charles L. Grant, Nightmare Seasons
Dennis Etchison, The Dark Country
Charles L. Grant, ed., Shadows 5
Stephen King, Different Seasons
Alan Ryan, ed., Perpetual Light
Susan Shwartz, ed., Hecate's Cauldron


winner Michael Whelan
Jill Bauman
Thomas Canty
R. J. Krupowicz
Don Maitz

Special Award - Professional

winner Donald M. Grant for Donald M. Grant, Publisher
Lester del Rey for Del Rey/Ballantine
David G. Hartwell for editing
Pat LoBrutto for editing
Douglas E. Winter for reviewing

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Stuart David Schiff for Whispers
Francesco Cova for Kadath
W. Paul Ganley for Weirdbook
Robert T. Garcia for American Fantasy
Stephen Jones & David Sutton for Fantasy Tales

Convention Award

winner Arkham House
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1982 Awards Page | Forward to 1984 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.