World Fantasy Convention

1985 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1985 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Tucson, AZ, was chaired by Randal Rau.
Judges were Suzy McKee Charnas, Jo Fletcher, George R.R. Martin, Baird Searles and Terri Windling.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Theodore Sturgeon


winner Robert Holdstock, Mythago Wood
winner Barry Hughart, Bridge of Birds
Diana Wynne Jones, Archer's Goon
Stephen King & Peter Straub, The Talisman
T.E.D. Klein, The Ceremonies


winner Geoff Ryman, "The Unconquered Country"
Clive Barker, "Jacqueline Ess: Her Will and Testament"
Stephen King, "The Ballad of the Flexible Bullet"
Gerald Pearce, "In the Sumerian Marshes"
Lucius Shepard, "The Man Who Painted the Dragon Griaule"

Short Fiction

winner Scott Baker, "Still Life with Scorpion"
winner Alan Ryan, "The Bones Wizard"
Jack Dann, "Bad Medicine"
Robert R. McCammon, "Nightcrawlers"


winner Clive Barker, Clive Barker's Books of Blood I, II, III
Parke Godwin, The Fire When It Comes
M. John Harrison, Viriconium Nights
Garry Kilworth, The Songbirds of Pain
Alan Ryan, ed., Night Visions 1
J. N. Williamson, ed., Masques


winner Edward Gorey
Thomas Canty
Alan Lee
J.K. Potter
Michael Whelan

Special Award - Professional

winner Chris Van Allsburg for The Mysteries of Harris Burdick
Robert H. Boyer & Kenneth J. Zahorski for Fantasists on Fantasy
T.E.D. Klein for Twilight Zone
Pat LoBrutto for editing
Shawna McCarthy for IASFM
Tim Underwood & Chuck Miller for Underwood - Miller

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Stuart David Schiff for Whispers &, Whispers Press
Jeff Conner for Scream/Press
W. Paul Ganley for Weirdbook Press
Paul Mikol & Scot Stadalsky for Dark Harvest

Convention Award

winner Evangeline Walton
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1984 Awards Page | Forward to 1986 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.