World Fantasy Convention

1986 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1986 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Providence, RI, was chaired by Robert Plante.
Judges were Robert A. Collins, Ellen Datlow, Dean R. Koontz, Patricia A. McKillip and Charles de Lint.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Avram Davidson


winner Dan Simmons, Song of Kali
Clive Barker, The Damnation Game
Peter Carey, Illywhacker
Lisa Goldstein, The Dream Years
Paul Hazel, Winterking
Anne Rice, The Vampire Lestat


winner T.E.D. Klein, "Nadelman's God"
Peter Dickinson, "Flight"
David Morrell, "Dead Image"
Kate Wilhelm, "The Gorgon Field"
Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, "Do I Dare to Eat a Peach?"

Short Fiction

winner James P. Blaylock, "Paper Dragons"
Avram Davidson, "The Slovo Stove"
Sharon N. Farber, "Return of the Dust Vampires"
Lucius Shepard, "The Jaguar Hunter"


winner Robin McKinley, ed., Imaginary Lands
Clive Barker, Clive Barker's Books of Blood IV, V, VI
Angela Carter, Black Venus
Charles L. Grant, ed., Night Visions 2
Stephen King, Skeleton Crew
Stuart David Schiff, ed., Whispers V
Terri Windling, ed., Faery!
Jane Yolen, Dragonfield and Other Stories


winner Jeff Jones
winner Thomas Canty
Alan Lee
J.K. Potter

Special Award - Professional

winner Pat LoBrutto for editing
Thomas Canty & Phil Hale for A Monster at Christmas
Donald M. Grant for Donald M. Grant, Publisher
Terri Windling for editing

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Douglas E. Winter for reviewing
Jeff Conner for Scream/Press
David B. Silva for The Horror Show
W. Paul Ganley for Weirdbook/Weirdbook Press
Paul Mikol & Scot Stadalsky for Dark Harvest

Convention Award

winner Donald A. Wollheim
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1985 Awards Page | Forward to 1987 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.