World Fantasy Convention

1987 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1987 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Nashville, TN, was chaired by Maurine Dorris.
Judges were John M. Ford, Paul Hazel, Tappan King, Michael McDowell and Melissa Ann Singer.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Jack Finney


winner Patrick Suskind, Perfume
Terry Bisson, Talking Man
Charles L. Grant, The Pet
Stephen King, It
Dean R. Koontz, Strangers
Margaret Mahy, The Tricksters
Gene Wolfe, Soldier of the Mist


winner Orson Scott Card, "Hatrack River"
Clive Barker, "The Hellbound Heart"
Tim Powers, "Night Moves"
J. N. Williamson, "The Night Seasons"
Connie Willis, "Chance"

Short Fiction

winner David J. Schow, "Red Light"
Michael Blumlein, "The Brains of Rats"
Les Daniels, "They're Coming for You"
Stephen King, "The End of the Whole Mess"
Joe R. Lansdale, "Tight Little Stitches in a Dead Man's Back"
Amyas Naegele, "The Rise and Fall of Father Alex"
Nancy Springer, "The Boy Who Plaited Manes"
Whitley Strieber, "Pain"


winner James Tiptree, Jr., Tales of the Quintana Roo
Dennis Etchison, ed., Cutting Edge
Tanith Lee, Dreams of Dark and Light
George R.R. Martin, ed., Night Visions 3
Will Shetterly & Emma Bull, ed., Liavek: The Players of Luck
Douglas E. Winter, ed., Black Wine
Jane Yolen, Merlin's Booke


winner Robert Gould
Stephen Gervais
J.K. Potter
Chris Van Allsburg

Special Award - Professional

winner Jane Yolen for Favorite Folktales From Around the World
Donald M. Grant for Donald M. Grant, Publisher
David G. Hartwell for editing
The editors of, Interzone
Jack Sullivan for The Penguin Encyclopedia of Horror and the Supernatural
Terri Windling for editing

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Jeff Conner for Scream/Press
winner W. Paul Ganley for Weirdbook &, Weirdbook Press
Stephen Jones & David Sutton for Fantasy Tales
David B. Silva for The Horror Show

Convention Award

winner Andre Norton
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1986 Awards Page | Forward to 1988 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.