World Fantasy Convention

1988 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1988 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in London, UK, was chaired by Jo Fletcher and Stephen Jones.
Judges were Mike Ashley, Scott Baker, Robert S. Hadji, Maxim Jakubowski and Donald A. Wollheim.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Everett F. Bleiler


winner Ken Grimwood, Replay
Clive Barker, Weaveworld
Orson Scott Card, Seventh Son
John Crowley, Ægypt
Stephen King, Misery
Robert R. McCammon, Swan Song
Tim Powers, On Stranger Tides


winner Ursula K. Le Guin, "Buffalo Gals, Won't You Come Out Tonight"
Scott Baker, "Nesting Instinct"
Robert R. McCammon, "Best Friends"
George R.R. Martin, "The Pear-Shaped Man"
Alan Moore, "A Hypothetical Lizard"
Alan Rodgers, "The Boy Who Came back From the Dead"
Lucius Shepard, "Shades"

Short Fiction

winner Jonathan Carroll, "Friend's Best Man"
Pat Cadigan, "Angel"
Garry Kilworth, "Hogfoot Right and Bird-hands"
David J. Schow, "Pamela's Get"
Douglas E. Winter, "Splatter: A Cautionary Tale"
Gene Wolfe, "In the House of Gingerbread"


winner Kathryn Cramer & Peter D. Pautz, ed., The Architecture of Fear
winner David G. Hartwell, ed., The Dark Descent
Anon., ed., Night Visions 4
Jeanne Van Buren Dann & Jack Dann, ed., In The Field of Fire
Christopher Evans & Robert Holdstock, ed., Other Edens
Karl Edward Wagner, ed., The Year's Best Horror Stories XV
J. N. Williamson, ed., Masques II


winner Lucius Shepard, The Jaguar Hunter
Ramsey Campbell, Scared Stiff, Tales of Sex and Death
Tanith Lee, Night's Sorceries
Michael Shea, Polyphemus
Karl Edward Wagner, Why Not You and I?


winner J.K. Potter
Thomas Canty
Harry O. Morris
Michael Whelan

Special Award - Professional

winner David G. Hartwell for Arbor House/Tor anthologies
Gardner Dozois for IASFM & anthologies
Tappan King for Twilight Zone
Dean R. Koontz for service to the field
Shawna McCarthy for Bantam Spectra
George Scithers for Weird Tales
Terri Windling for editing

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Robert & Nancy Garcia for American Fantasy
winner David B. Silva for The Horror Show
Stephen Jones & David Sutton for Fantasy Tales
Paul Mikol & Scot Stadalsky for Dark Harvest
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1987 Awards Page | Forward to 1989 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.