World Fantasy Convention

1989 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1989 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Seattle, WA, was chaired by Robert Doyle.
Judges were Susan Allison, Ed Bryant, Lisa Goldstein, Peter Dennis Pautz and Jon White.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Evangeline Walton


winner Peter Straub, Koko
James P. Blaylock, The Last Coin
Jonathan Carroll, Sleeping in Flame
Robert Cormier, Fade
Thomas Harris, The Silence of the Lambs
Joe R. Lansdale, The Drive-In


winner George R.R. Martin, "The Skin Trade"
Lucius Shepard, "The Scalehunter's Beautiful Daughter"
Sheri S. Tepper, "The Gardener"
Jane Yolen, "The Devil's Arithmetic"

Short Fiction

winner John M. Ford, "Winter Solstice, Camelot Station"
Joe R. Lansdale, "Night They Missed the Horror Show"
Lucius Shepard, "Life of Buddha"
Dan Simmons, "Metastasis"


winner Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, ed., The Year's Best Fantasy: First Annual Collection
Anon., ed., Night Visions 6
David J. Schow, ed., Silver Scream
Douglas E. Winter, ed., Prime Evil


winner Gene Wolfe, Storeys from the Old Hotel
winner Harlan Ellison, Angry Candy
Clive Barker, Cabal
Roger Anker, ed., Charles Beaumont: Selected Stories
Dennis Etchison, The Blood Kiss
Fritz Leiber, The Knight and Knave of Swords


winner Edward Gorey
Jill Bauman
Thomas Canty
Don Maitz
Harry O. Morris
Phil Parks

Special Award - Professional

winner Robert Weinberg for A Biographical Dictionary of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists
winner Terri Windling for editing
Ellen Datlow for Omni and anthologies
Paul Mikol & Scot Stadalsky for Dark Harvest
Dean R. Koontz for books

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Kristine Kathryn Rusch & Dean Wesley Smith for Pulphouse
Carl T. Ford for Dagon Press
Peggy Nadramia for Grue
Paul Olson for Horrorstruck
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1988 Awards Page | Forward to 1990 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.