World Fantasy Convention

1990 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1990 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Schaumburg, IL, was chaired by Robert Weinberg.
Judges were Mike Dirda, Pat LoBrutto, Beth Meacham, Peter Straub and Rodger Turner.

Life Achievement Winners

winner R.A. Lafferty


winner Jack Vance, Lyonesse: Madouc
Jonathan Carroll, A Child Across the Sky
Charles L. Grant, In a Dark Dream
Tim Powers, The Stress of Her Regard
Dan Simmons, Carrion Comfort
Gene Wolfe, Soldier of Arete


winner John Crowley, "Great Work of Time"
Michael Bishop, "Apartheid, Superstrings, and Mordecai Thubana"
Joe R. Lansdale, "On the Far Side of the Cadillac Desert with Dead Folks"
Lucius Shepard, "The Father of Stones"
Howard Waldrop, "A Dozen Tough Jobs"

Short Fiction

winner Steven Millhauser, "The Illusionist"
Scott Baker, "Varicose Worms"
Edward Bryant, "A Sad Last Love at the Diner of the Damned"
Jonathan Carroll, "Mr. Fiddlehead"
Michael Swanwick, "The Edge of the World"
Chet Williamson, "Yore Skin's Jes's Soft 'N Purty... He Said"


winner Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, ed., The Year's Best Fantasy: Second Annual Collection
Ellen Datlow, ed., Blood is Not Enough
Joe R. Lansdale & Pat LoBrutto, ed., Razored Saddles
John Skipp & Craig Spector, ed., Book of the Dead


winner Richard Matheson, Richard Matheson: Collected Stories
John Crowley, Novelty
Harlan Ellison, Harlan Ellison's Watching
Joe R. Lansdale, By Bizarre Hands
Robert R. McCammon, Blue World and Other Stories


winner Thomas Canty
James Christensen
Don Maitz
J.K. Potter

Special Award - Professional

winner Mark V. Ziesing for Ziesing Books
Paul Mikol & Scot Stadalsky for Dark Harvest
Ellen Datlow for book editing
Tim Underwood & Chuck Miller for Underwood-Miller

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Peggy Nadramia for Grue
Richard Chizmar for Cemetery Dance
Joe Stefko & Tracy Cocoman for Charnel House
David B. Silva for The Horror Show
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1989 Awards Page | Forward to 1991 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.