World Fantasy Convention

1991 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1991 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Tucson, AZ, was chaired by Randal Rau, Bruce Farr.
Judges were Emma Bull, Orson Scott Card, Richard Laymon, Faren Miller and Darrell Schweitzer.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Ray Russell


winner James Morrow, Only Begotten Daughter
winner Ellen Kushner, Thomas the Rhymer
Guy Gavriel Kay, Tigana
Valerie Martin, Mary Reilly
Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman, Good Omens


winner Pat Murphy, "Bones"
Jonathan Carroll, "Black Cocktail"
Joe Haldeman, "The Hemingway Hoax"
F. Paul Wilson, "The Barrens"

Short Fiction

winner Neil Gaiman & Charles Vess, "A Midsummer Night's Dream"
Terry Bisson, "Bears Discover Fire"
Thomas Ligotti, "The Last Feast of Harlequin"
Elizabeth Massie, "Stephen"


winner Stephen Jones & Ramsey Campbell, ed., Best New Horror
Kathryn Cramer, ed., Walls of Fear
Ellen Datlow, ed., Alien Sex
Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, ed., The Year's Best Fantasy & Horror: Third Annual Collection
Thomas F. Monteleone, ed., Borderlands
Stephen Jones & David Sutton, ed., Dark Voices 2


winner Carol Emshwiller, The Start of the End of It All and Other Stories
Michael Blumlein, The Brains of Rats
Fritz Leiber, The Leiber Chronicles
Dan Simmons, Prayers to Broken Stones
Peter Straub, Houses Without Doors


winner Dave McKean
Janet Aulisio
David Bergen
Brian Froud
Don Maitz
J.K. Potter

Special Award - Professional

winner Arnie Fenner for book design
Ellen Datlow for editing
S. T. Joshi for The Weird Tale
Paul Mikol & Scot Stadalsky for Dark Harvest
David Pringle for Interzone

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Richard Chizmar for Cemetery Dance
Barry Hoffman for Gauntlet
Marc Michaud for Necronomicon Press
Steve Pasechnick for Strange Plasma
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1990 Awards Page | Forward to 1992 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.