World Fantasy Convention

1992 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1992 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Pine Mountain, GA, was chaired by Richard Gilliam and Ed Kramer.
Judges were Jill Bauman, Arthur Byron Cover, John Jarrold, Robert Sampson and Gene Wolfe.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Edd Cartier


winner Robert R. McCammon, Boy's Life
A.A. Attanasio, Hunting the Ghost Dancer
James P. Blaylock, The Paper Grail
Emma Bull, Bone Dance
Jonathan Carroll, Outside the Dog Museum
Charles de Lint, The Little Country


winner Robert Holdstock & Garry Kilworth, "The Ragthorn"
C.J. Cherryh, "Gwydion and the Dragon"
Charles de Lint, "Our Lady of the Harbour"
Kristine Kathryn Rusch, "The Gallery of His Dreams"
Darrell Schweitzer, "To Become a Sorcerer"
S.P. Somtow, "The Pavilion of Frozen Women"

Short Fiction

winner Fred Chappell, "The Somewhere Doors"
James P. Blaylock & Tim Powers, "The Better Boy"
Charles de Lint, "The Conjure Man"
Charles de Lint, "Pity the Monsters"


winner Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, ed., The Year's Best Fantasy & Horror: Fourth Annual Collection
Ellen Datlow, ed., A Whisper of Blood
Stefan Dziemianowicz, Robert Weinberg & Martin H. Greenberg, ed., Famous Fantastic Mysteries
Charles L. Grant, ed., Final Shadows
Martin H. Greenberg, ed., After the King
Lewis Shiner, ed., When the Music's Over


winner Lucius Shepard, The Ends of the Earth
Fred Chappell, More Shapes Than One
Robert Holdstock, The Bone Forest
R.A. Lafferty, Lafferty in Orbit
Thomas Ligotti, Grimscribe: His Lives and Works
Howard Waldrop, Night of the Cooters: More Neat Stories


winner Tim Hildebrandt
David Bergen
Alan M. Clark
Ned Dameron
Alan Lee

Special Award - Professional

winner George Scithers & Darrell Schweitzer for Weird Tales
Ramsey Campbell for editing
Donald M. Grant for Donald M. Grant, Publisher
Dean Wesley Smith & Kristine Kathryn Rusch for Pulphouse
Terri Windling for book editing

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner W. Paul Ganley for Weirdbook/Weirdbook Press
Crispin Burnham for Eldritch Tales
Joe Stefko & Tracy Cocoman for Charnel House
Barry Hoffman for Gauntlet
Peggy Nadramia for Grue
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1991 Awards Page | Forward to 1993 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.