World Fantasy Convention

1996 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1996 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

WFC, held in Schaumburg, IL, was chaired by Nancy Ford, Phyllis Weinberg and Tina Jens.
Judges were Bryan Cholfin, Kathryn Cramer, Moshe Feder, Roz Kaveney and Christopher Shelling.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Gene Wolfe


winner Christopher Priest, The Prestige
James P. Blaylock, All the Bells on Earth
Vikram Chandra, Red Earth and Pouring Rain
Nina Kiriki Hoffman, The Silent Strength of Stones
Graham Joyce, Requiem
Tim Powers, Expiration Date


winner Michael Swanwick, "Radio Waves"
Nina Kiriki Hoffman, "Home for Christmas"
Ursula K. Le Guin, "Ether OR"
Jonathan Lethem, "The Insipid Profession of Jonathan Hornebom"
Tim Powers, "Where They Are Hid"
Michael Marshall Smith, "More Tomorrow"

Short Fiction

winner Gwyneth Jones, "The Grass Princess"
Kit Reed, "The Singing Marine"
Petrina Smith, "Angel Thing"
S.P. Somtow, "Dragon's Fin Soup"
Robert Charles Wilson, "The Perseids"
Douglas E. Winter, "Loop"


winner A. Susan Williams & Richard Glyn Jones, ed., The Penguin Book of Modern Fantasy by Women
Nancy A. Collins, Edward E. Kramer & Martin H. Greenberg, ed., Dark Love
Stephen Jones & David Sutton, ed., Dark Terrors
Lucy Sussex & Judith Raphael Buckrich, ed., She's Fantastical
Steve Rasnic Tem, ed., High Fantastic


winner Gwyneth Jones, Seven Tales and a Fable
Brian Aldiss, The Secret of this Book (aka Common Clay)
Jonathan Carroll, The Panic Hand
Hugh B. Cave, Death Stalks the Night
Charles de Lint, The Ivory and the Horn


winner Gahan Wilson
Tom Canty
Alan M. Clark
Bob Eggleton
J.K. Potter

Special Award - Professional

winner Richard Evans for contributions to the genre
Stephen Jones for editing and anthologies
Kristine Kathryn Rusch for editing, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction
Gordon Van Gelder for editing
Paul Williams for editing, Microcosmic God by Theodore Sturgeon and for his work with the Literary Estate of Theodore Sturgeon

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Marc Michaud for Necronomicon Press
Fedogan & Bremer for book publishing
Robert K.J. Killheffer, Meg Hamel and Jenna A. Felice for Century
Steve Pasechnick for Edgewood Press
Robert Weinberg for contributions to the genre
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1995 Awards Page | Forward to 1997 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.