World Fantasy Convention

1999 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

1999 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The 25th World Fantasy Convention, held in Providence, RI, was co-chaired by Chip Hitchcock and DaveySnyder.
Judges were Gregory Frost, Don Hutchison, MichaelKandel, Rebecca Ore, and Al Sarrantonio.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Hugh B. Cave


winner Louise Erdrich, The Antelope Wife (HarperFlamingo)
Charles de Lint, Someplace to Be Flying (Tor)
Guy Gavriel Kay, Sailing to Sarantium (Simon & Schuster/Earthlight (UK), Viking (Canada), HarperPrism (US))
Sean Stewart, Mockingbird (Ace)
Thomas Sullivan, The Martyring (Forge)


winner Ian MacLeod, "The Summer Isles" (Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine, October/November)
George R.R. Martin, "The Hedge Knight" (Legends, Edited by Robert Silverberg; Tor, Voyager)
A.S. Byatt, "Cold" (Elementals: Stories of Fire and Ice; Random House, Chatto & Windus)
Ursula K. Le Guin, "Dragonfly" (Legends, Edited by Robert Silverberg; Tor, Voyager)
Peter Straub, "Mr. Clubb and Mr. Cuff" (Murder for Revenge, Edited by Otto Penzler, Delacorte)

Short Fiction

winner Kelly Link, "The Specialist's Hat" (Event Horizon November 15)
George R.R. Martin, "The Hedge Knight" (Legends, Edited by Robert Silverberg; Tor, Voyager)
Neil Gaiman, "Shoggoth's Old Peculiar" (The Mammoth Book of Comic Fantasy, Edited by Mike Ashley; Smoke and Mirrors: Short Fictions and Illusions by Neil Gaiman, Avon Books)
John Kessel, "Every Angel is Terrifying" (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, October/November)
Ellen Kushner, "The Death of the Duke" (Starlight 2, Edited by Patrick Nielsen Hayden, Tor)
Kelly Link, "Travels with the Snow Queen" (Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet, Volume 1, Number 1 1997/1998; Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Twelfth Annual Collection, Edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling)


winner Karen Joy Fowler -- Black Glass (Henry Holt)
Jack Cady -- The Night We Buried Road Dog (DreamHaven Books)
Elizabeth Hand -- Last Summer at Mars Hill (HarperPrism)
Graham Masterton -- Manitou Man: The Worlds of Graham Masterton (British Fantasy Society)
Gahan Wilson -- The Cleft and Other Odd Tales (Tor)


winner Dreaming Down-Under, Edited by Jack Dann and Janeen Webb (HarperCollins Australia/Voyager)
The Best of Crank!, Edited by Bryan Cholfin (Tor)
Dark Terrors 4, Edited by Stephen Jones & David Sutton (Gollancz)
Legends, Edited by Robert Silverberg (Tor, Voyager)
Starlight 2, Edited by Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor)


winner Charles Vess
Jim Burns
Tom Canty
Alan Clark
Bob Eggleton

Special Award - Professional

winner Jim Turner -- For Golden Gryphon Press
Les Daniels -- For Superman: The Complete History
Jo Fletcher -- For editing
David Pringle -- For Interzone
Robert Silverberg & Grania Davis -- For editing The Avram Davidson Treasury

Special Award - Non-Professional

winner Richard Chizmar -- For Cemetery Dance Publications
David Marshall -- For Pumpkin Books
Stephen Pasechnick -- For Edgewood Press
Jacob Weisman -- For Tachyon Publications
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1998 Awards Page | Forward to 2000 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.