World Fantasy Convention

2000 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

2000 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The WFC 2000 held in Corpus Christi, TX, was chaired by Fred Duarte.
Judges were Suzi Baker, W. Paul Ganley, Tim Holman, Marvin Kaye, and Melissa Scott.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Marion Zimmer Bradley
winner Michael Moorcock


winner Martin Scott, Thraxas (Orbit)
Peter S. Beagle, Tamsin (Roc)
James P. Blaylock, The Rainy Season (Ace)
Steven Erikson, Gardens of the Moon (Bantam Press)
Terence M. Green, A Witness To Life (Forge)
Nina Kiriki Hoffman, A Red Heart of Memories (Ace)


winner Jeff VanderMeer, "The Transformation of Martin Lake" (Palace Corbie 8)
winner Laurel Winter, "Sky Eyes" (F&SF 3/99)
Tanith Lee, "Scarlet and Gold" (Weird Tales Summer '99)
Michael Meddor, "The Wizard Retires" (F&SF 9/99)
Lucius Shepard, "Crocodile Rock" (F&SF 10-11/99)
Connie Willis, "The Winds of Marble Arch" (Asimov's 10-11/99)

Short Fiction

winner Ian R. MacLeod "The Chop Girl" (Asimov's 12/99)
Eleanor Arnason "The Grammarian's Five Daughters" (Realms of Fantasy 6/99)
Paul J. McAuley "Naming the Dead" (Interzone 11/99)
Kim Newman "Amerikanski Dead at the Moscow Morgue" (999)
Robert Reed "Human Bay" (Asimov's 5/99)
Delia Sherman "The Parwat Ruby" (F&SF 6/99)
Howard Waldrop "The Dynasters Vol. 1: On the Downs" (F&SF 10-11/99)


winner Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling eds. Silver Birch Blood Moon (Avon)
Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling eds. The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Twelfth Annual Collection (St. Martin's)
Don Hutchison ed. Northern Frights 5 (Mosaic Press)
Stephen Jones ed. Dark Detectives: Adventures of the Supernatural Sleuths (Fedogan & Bremer)
Al Sarrantonio ed. 999: New Stories of Horror and Suspense (Avon)


winner Charles de Lint Moonlight and Vines (Tor)
winner Stephen R. Donaldson Reave the Just and Other Tales (Voyager '98; Bantam Spectra)
Stephen King Hearts in Atlantis (Scribner)
Tom Piccirilli Deep Into that Darkness Peering (Terminal Fright Press)
Darrell Schweitzer & Jason Van Hollander Necromancies and Netherworlds (Wildside Press)


winner Jason Van Hollander
Les Edwards
Bob Eggleton
Stephen E. Fabian

Special Award Professional

winner Gordon Van Gelder for editing (St. Martin's and F&SF)
Seamus Heaney for the new translation of Beowulf
Warren Lapine for DNA Publications
John Betancourt for Wildside Press
Stephen Jones for The Essential Monster Movie Guide
Kim Newman for Millennium Movies

Special Award Non-Professional

winner The British Fantasy Society
Ken Abner for Terminal Fright Press
Dwayne Olson, Peder Wagtskjold, Scott Wyatt, for Fedogan & Bremer
Rosemary Pardoe for The Haunted Library
William K. Schafer for Subterranean Press
R.B. Russell for Tartarus Press

Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 1999 Awards Page | Forward to 2001 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.