World Fantasy Convention

2001 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

2001 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The WFC 2001 held in Montreal, Canada, was chaired by Bruce Farr.
Judges were Steven Erikson, Paula Guran, Diana Wynne Jones, Graham Joyce, and Jonathan Strahan.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Frank Frazetta
winner Philip José Farmer


winner Declare, Tim Powers (Subterranean Press; Morrow 2001)
winner Galveston, Sean Stewart (Ace Books)
The Grand Ellipse, Paula Volsky (Bantam Spectra)
His Dark Materials 3: The Amber Spyglass, Philip Pullman (Knopf; Scholastic UK)
Lord of Emperors, Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada; HarperPrism; Earthlight)
Perdido Street Station, China Miéville (Macmillan; Del Rey 2001)


winner The Man on the Ceiling, Steve Rasnic Tem & Melanie Tem (American Fantasy)
"Blue Kansas Sky", Michael Bishop (Blue Kansas Sky)
"Chip Crockett's Christmas Carol", Elizabeth Hand (Sci Fiction, serialized 12.06.00 - 12.27.00)
"Mr Dark's Carnival", Glen Hirshberg (Shadows and Silence)
"Mr. Simonelli or the Fairy Widower", Susanna Clarke (Black Heart, Ivory Bones)
"Pelican Cay", David Case (Dark Terrors 5)
"Seventy-Two Letters", Ted Chiang (Vanishing Acts)

Short Fiction

winner "The Pottawatomie Giant", Andy Duncan (Sci Fiction, 11.01.00)
"Down Here in the Garden", Tia V. Travis (Horror Garage #1, May 2000)
"Is There Anybody There?", Kim Newman (The New English Library Book of Internet Stories)
"Lincoln in Frogmore", Andy Duncan (Beluthahatchie and Other Stories)
"The Raggle Taggle Gypsy-O", Michael Swanwick (Tales of Old Earth)
"The Saltimbanques", Terry Dowling (Blackwater Days, Eidolon 29/30)
"Shoe and Marriage", Kelly Link (4 Stories)


winner Dark Matter: A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora, Sheree R. Thomas, ed. (Warner Aspect)
Dark Terrors 5: The Gollancz Book of Horror, Stephen Jones & David Sutton, eds. (Gollancz)
Shadows and Silence, Barbara Roden & Christopher Roden, eds. (Ash-Tree Press)
Vanishing Acts, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
whispers from the cotton tree root: caribbean fabulist fiction, Nalo Hopkinson, ed. (Invisible Cities Press)
The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Thirteenth Annual Collection, Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (St. Martin's)


winner Beluthahatchie and Other Stories, Andy Duncan (Golden Gryphon)
Blackwater Days, Terry Dowling (Eidolon Books)
Magic Terror: Seven Tales, Peter Straub (Random House)
Perpetuity Blues and Other Stories, Neal Barrett, Jr. (Golden Gryphon)
The Perseids and Other Stories, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)
Travel Arrangements: Short Stories, M. John Harrison (Gollancz)


winner Shaun Tan
Jim Burns
Kinuko Y. Craft
Les Edwards
Daniel Merriam
John Jude Palencar

Special Award Professional

winner Tom Shippey (for J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the Century (HarperCollins UK; Houghton Mifflin 2001))
Ellen Datlow (for editing Sci Fiction and anthologies)
Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner (for Spectrum 7: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art)
William K. Schafer (for Subterranean Press)
Gary Turner & Marty Halpern (for Golden Gryphon Press)

Special Award Non-Professional

winner Bill Sheehan (for At The Foot Of The Story Tree: An Inquiry into the Fiction of Peter Straub (Subterranean Press))
Benjamin Cossel, Jeremy Lassen & Jason Williams (for Nightshade Press)
Peter Crowther (for PS Publishing)
Philip J. Rahman & Dennis E. Weiler (for Fedogan & Bremer)
Barbara Roden & Christopher Roden (for Ash-Tree Press)
Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker (for Tartarus Press)

Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 2000 Awards Page | Forward to 2002 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.