World Fantasy Convention

2002 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

2002 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The WFC 2002 held in Minneapolis, MN, was chaired by Greg Ketter.
Judges were Peter Adkins, Meg Davis, Jason Van Hollander, Michele Sagara West, and F. Paul Wilson, with awards administrator Peter Dennis Pautz.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Forrest J Ackerman
winner George Scithers


winner The Other Wind, Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt)
American Gods, Neil Gaiman (Morrow)
Brown Harvest, Jay Russell (Four Walls Eight Windows)
The Curse of Chalion, Lois McMaster Bujold (Eos)
From the Dust Returned, Ray Bradbury (Morrow)
The Onion Girl, Charles de Lint (Tor)
The Wooden Sea, Jonathan Carroll (Tor)


winner "The Bird Catcher", S.P. Somtow (The Museum of Horrors, Dennis Etchison, ed., Leisure)
"Cleopatra Brimstone", Elizabeth Hand (Redshift, Al Sarrantonio, ed., Roc)
"Eternity and Afterward", Lucius Shepard (F&SF Mar 2001)
"The Finder", Ursula K. Le Guin (Tales from Earthsea, Harcourt)
"Karuna, Inc.", Paul Di Filippo (Fantastic Stories of the Imagination #21, Spring 2001; Strange Trades, Golden Gryphon)
"Struwwelpeter", Glen Hirshberg (Sci Fiction 11.28.01)

Short Story

winner "Queen for a Day", Albert E. Cowdrey (F&SF Oct/Nov 2001)
"His Own Back Yard", James P. Blaylock (Sci Fiction 07.11.01)
"The Honeyed Knot", Jeffrey Ford (F&SF May 2001)
"Legerdemain", Jack O'Connell (F&SF Oct/Nov 2001)
"Something to Hitch Meat To", Nalo Hopkinson (Skin Folk, Warner Aspect)


winner The Museum of Horrors, Dennis Etchison, ed. (Leisure)
The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror: Volume Twelve, Stephen Jones, ed. (Robinson; Carrol & Graf)
The Mammoth Book of Vampire Stories by Women, Stephen Jones, ed. (Robinson; Carrol & Graf)
Stigmata, Jerad Walters, ed. (Cocytus Press)
The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Fourteenth Annual Collection, Ellen Datlow & Terry Windling, eds. (St. Martin's)


winner Skin Folk, Nalo Hopkinson (Warner Aspect)
Dark Universe: Stories 1951-2001, William F. Nolan (Stealth Press)
The Essential Ellison: A 50-Year Retrospective: Revised and Expanded, Harlan Ellison; Terry Dowling with Richard Delap & Gil Lamont, eds. (Morpheus)
Stranger Things Happen, Kelly Link (Small Beer Press)
Talking in the Dark, Dennis Etchison (Stealth Press)


winner Allen Koszowski
Donato Giancola
John Jude Palencar
Douglas Walters
Gahan Wilson

Special Award: Professional

winner Jo Fletcher (for editing the Fantasy Masterworks series, Gollancz)
winner Stephen Jones (for editing)
Randy Broecker (for Fantasy of the 20th Century: An Illustrated History)
Ellen Datlow (for editing)
Douglas E. Winter (for Clive Barker: The Dark Fantastic)

Special Award: Non-Professional

winner Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker (for Tartarus Press)
Peter Crowther (for PS Publishing)
Paula Guran (for Horror Garage)
Jerad Walters (for Cocytus Press)
Michael Waltz, et al. (for Sidecar Preservation Society)
Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 2001 Awards Page | Forward to 2003 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.