World Fantasy Convention

2003 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

2003 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The WFC 2003 held in Washington, DC, was chaired by Michael J. Walsh.
Judges were Justin Ackroyd, Les Edwards, Laura Anne Gilman, Lawrence Watt-Evans, and Jane Yolen, with awards administrator Peter Dennis Pautz.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Lloyd Alexander
winner Donald M. Grant


winner The Facts of Life Graham Joyce (Gollancz)
winner Ombria in Shadow Patricia A. McKillip (Ace)
The Portrait of Mrs. Charbuque Jeffrey Ford (Morrow)
Fitcher's Brides Gregory Frost (Tor)
The Scar China Miéville (Macmillan U.K.; Del Rey)


winner "The Library" Zoran Zivkovic (Leviathan 3)
Seven Wild Sisters Charles de Lint (Subterranean Press)
A Year in the Linear City Paul Di Filippo (PS Publishing)
Coraline Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)
"The Least Trumps" Elizabeth Hand (Conjunctions 39: The New Wave Fabulists)

Short Story

winner "Creation" Jeffrey Ford (F&SF 5/02)
"The Weight of Words" Jeffrey Ford (Leviathan 3)
"October in the Chair" Neil Gaiman (Conjunctions 39: The New Wave Fabulists)
"Little Dead Girl Singing" Stephen Gallagher (Weird Tales Spring 2002)
"The Essayist in the Wilderness" William Browning Spencer (F&SF 5/02)


winner The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, Editors (Viking)
winner Leviathan 3 Jeff VanderMeer & Forrest Aguirre, Editors (Ministry of Whimsy Press)
The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Fifteenth Annual Collection Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, Editors (St. Martin's)
Conjunctions 39: The New Wave Fabulists Peter Straub, Editor (Bard College)
The American Fantasy Tradition Brian M. Thomsen, Editor (Tor)


winner The Fantasy Writer's Assistant and Other Stories Jeffrey Ford (Golden Gryphon Press)
Waifs and Strays Charles de Lint (Viking)
Water: Tales of Elemental Spirits Robin McKinley & Peter Dickinson (Putnam)
The Ogre's Wife Richard Parks (Obscura Press)
City of Saints and Madmen Jeff VanderMeer (Prime Books)
Figures in Rain Chet Williamson (Ash-Tree Press)


winner Tom Kidd
Kinuko Y. Craft
Gary Lippincott
Dave McKean
John Jude Palencar
Charles Vess

Special Award: Professional

winner Gordon Van Gelder for The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction
Paul Barnett for Paper Tiger art books
Ellen Datlow for editing
William K. Schafer for Subterranean Press
Gary Turner & Marty Halpern for Golden Gryphon Press
Terri Windling for editing

Special Award: Non-Professional

winner Jason Williams, Jeremy Lassen, Benjamin Cossel for Night Shade Books
Peter Crowther for PS Publishing
Gavin Grant and Kelly Link for Small Beer Press
Sean Wallace for Prime Books
Michael J. Walsh for Old Earth Books

Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 2002 Awards Page | Forward to 2004 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.