World Fantasy Convention

2004 World Fantasy Award
Winners and Nominees

2004 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The WFC 2004 held in Tempe, Arizona, was chaired by Mike Willmoth.
Judges were John Clute, Sherwood Smith, Michael Stackpole, Alain Nevant and Scott Wyatt, with awards administrator Peter Dennis Pautz.

Life Achievement Winners

winner Stephen King
winner Gahan Wilson


winner Jo Walton Tooth and Claw (Tor)
K. J. Bishop The Etched City (Prime)
Kij Johnson Fudoki (Tor)
Ian R. MacLeod The Light Ages (Ace)
Jeff VanderMeer Veniss Undergound (Prime)


winner Greer Gilman "A Crowd of Bone" (Trampoline: an anthology, Small Beer)
Simon Clark & Tim Lebbon "Exorcising Angels" (Exorcising Angels, Earthling)
Jeffrey Ford "The Empire of Ice Cream" (Scifiction, 2/26/03)
Glen Hirshberg "Dancing Men" (The Dark, Tor)
Kelly Link "The Hortlak" (The Dark, Tor)

Short Fiction:

winner Bruce Holland Rogers "Don Ysidro" (Polyphony 3, Wheatland)
Charles de Lint Circle of Cats (Viking)
Maureen F. McHugh "Ancestor Money" (Scifiction, 10/1/03)
Alex Irvine "Gus Dreams of Biting the Mailman" (Trampoline, Small Beer)
Chris Roberson "O One" (Live Without a Net, Roc)


winner Rosalie Parker, ed. Strange Tales (Tartarus Press)
Jack Dann, Ramsey Campbell & Dennis Etchison, eds. Gathering The Bones (Voyager Australia, Voyager UK, Tor US)
Ellen Datlow, ed. The Dark: New Ghost Stories (Tor)
Kelly Link, ed. Trampoline: an anthology (Small Beer)
Jeff VanderMeer & Mark Roberts, eds. The Thackery T. Lambshead Pocket Guide to Eccentric & Discredited Diseases (Night Shade)


winner Elizabeth Hand Bibliomancy (PS Publishing)
Jack Cady Ghosts of Yesterday (Night Shade)
Glen Hirshberg The Two Sams (Carroll & Graf)
George R. R. Martin GRRM: A RRetrospective (Subterranean)
Michael Marshall Smith More Tomorrows & Other Stories (Earthling)


winner Donato Giancola
winner Jason Van Hollander
John Jude Palencar
John Picacio

Special Award: Professional:

winner Peter Crowther For PS Publishing
John Howe/Alan Lee For Artwork in The Lord of the Rings
Kelly Link/Gavin Grant For Small Beer Press
Sharyn November For Firebird Books
David Pringle For Interzone/service to the field
Sean Wallace For Prime Books

Special Award: Non-Professional:

winner Ray Russell/Rosalie Parker For Tartarus Press
Deborah Layne/Jay Lake For Wheatland Press
Paul Miller For Earthling Publications
Dave Truesdale For Tangent Online
Rodger Turner, Neil Walsh and Wayne MacLaurin For

Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 2003 Awards Page | Forward to 2005 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.