World Fantasy Convention

2006 World Fantasy Award
Winners & Nominees

2006 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The WFC 2006 will be held in Austin, TX, is co-chaired by Renee Babcock and Fred Duarte.
Judges are Steve Lockley, Barbara Roden, Victoria Strauss, Jeff VanderMeer, and Andrew Wheeler.

Life Achievement Winners

winner John Crowley
winner Stephen Fabian


winner Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore (Harvill; Knopf)
Hal Duncan, Vellum (Macmillan; Del Rey)
Bret Easton Ellis, Lunar Park (Knopf; Macmillan)
Graham Joyce, The Limits of Enchantment (Gollancz; Atria)
Patricia A. McKillip, Od Magic (Ace)
Paul Park, A Princess of Roumania (Tor)


winner Joe Hill, Voluntary Committal (Subterranean Press)
Laird Barron, "The Imago Sequence" (Fantasy & Science Fiction, May 2005)
Michael Cunningham, "In the Machine" (Specimen Days, Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
Tanith Lee, "UOUS" (The Fair Folk, Science Fiction Book Club)
Kelly Link, "Magic for Beginners" (Magic for Beginners, Small Beer Press; Fantasy & Science Fiction, September 2005)
Simon Morden, Another War (Telos Publishing)

Short Fiction:

winner George Saunders, "CommComm" (The New Yorker, 08/01, 2005)
Peter S. Beagle, "Two Hearts" (Fantasy & Science Fiction, Oct/Nov 2005)
Joe Hill, "Best New Horror" (Postscripts 3, Spring 2005)
Holly Phillips, "The Other Grace" (In the Palace of Repose, Prime Books)
Caitlín R. Kiernan, "La Peau Verte" (To Charles Fort, With Love, Subterranean Press)


winner The Fair Folk ed. Marvin Kaye (Science Fiction Book Club)
Weird Shadows Over Innsmouth ed. Stephen Jones (Fedogan & Bremer)
Polyphony 5 ed. Deborah Layne and Jay Lake (Wheatland Press)
Adventure Vol. 1 ed. Chris Roberson (MonkeyBrain Books)
Nova Scotia: New Scottish Speculative Fiction ed. Neil Williamson and Andrew J. Wilson (Crescent Books)


winner Bruce Holland Rogers, The Keyhole Opera (Wheatland Press)
Joe Hill, 20th Century Ghosts (PS Publishing)
Caitlín R. Kiernan, To Charles Fort, With Love (Subterranean Press)
Kelly Link, Magic for Beginners (Small Beer Press)
Holly Phillips, In the Palace of Repose (Prime Books)


winner James Jean
Kinuko Y. Craft
Dave McKean
Edward Miller (Les Edwards)
John Jude Palencar

Special Award: Professional:

winner Sean Wallace (for Prime Books)
Susan Allison and Ginjer Buchanan (for Ace Books)
Lou Anders (for editing at Pyr)
S. T. Joshi & Stefan Dziemanowicz, Editors (for Supernatural Literature of the World: An Encyclopedia, Greenwood Press)
Peter Lavery (for Pan MacMillan UK/Tor UK)
Chris Roberson and Allison Baker (for MonkeyBrain Books)

Special Award: Non-Professional:

winner David Howe and Stephen Walker (for Telos Books)
The Friends of Arthur Machen (for Faunus, Machenalia, and The Life of Arthur Machen)
Leo Grin (for The Cimmerian)
Jess Nevins (for The Encyclopedia of Fantastic Victoriana, from MonkeyBrain Books)
Rodger Turner, Neil Walsh, and Wayne MacLaurin (for SF Site)

Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 2005 Awards Page | Forward to 2007 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.