World Fantasy Convention

2008 World Fantasy Award
Winners & Nominees

2008 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The World Fantasy Convention 2008 was held in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
Judges were Peter Coleborn, Robert Hoge, Dennis L. McKiernan, Mark Morris, Steve Pasechnick

Life Achievement Winners

winner Leo & Diane Dillon
winner Patricia McKillip

winner Ysabel Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada/Penguin Roc)
Territory Emma Bull (Tor)
Fangland John Marks (Penguin Press)
Gospel of the Knife Will Shetterly (Tor)
The Servants Michael Marshall Smith (Earthling Publications)

winner Illyria Elizabeth Hand (PS Publishing)
The Mermaids Robert Edric (PS Publishing)
"The Master Miller's Tale" Ian R. MacLeod (F&SF May 2007)
"Cold Snap" Kim Newman (The Secret Files of the Diogenes Club, MonkeyBrain Books)
"Stars Seen through Stone" Lucius Shepard (F&SF July 2007)

Short Story
winner "Singing of Mount Abora" Theodora Goss (Logorrhea, Bantam Spectra)
"The Cambist and Lord Iron: A Fairy Tale of Economics" Daniel Abraham (Logorrhea, Bantam Spectra)
"The Evolution of Trickster Stories Among the Dogs of North Park After the Change" Kij Johnson (The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales, Viking)
"Damned if you Don't " Robert Shearman" (Tiny Deaths, Comma Press)
"The Church on the Island" Simon Kurt Unsworth (At Ease with the Dead,
Ash-Tree Press)

winner Inferno: New Tales of Terror and the Supernatural Ellen Datlow, Editor (Tor)
Five Strokes to Midnight Gary A. Braunbeck & Hank Schwaeble, Eds. (Haunted Pelican Press)
Wizards: Magical Tales From The Masters of Modern Fantasy
Jack Dann & Gardner Dozois, Eds. (Berkley)
The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, Eds.(Viking)
Logorrhea: Good Words Make Good Stories John Klima, Editor (Bantam Spectra)

winner Tiny Deaths Robert Shearman (Comma Press)
Plots and Misadventures Stephen Gallagher (Subterranean Press)
Portable Childhoods Ellen Klages (Tachyon Publications)
The Secret Files of the Diogenes Club Kim Newman (MonkeyBrain Books)
Hart & Boot & Other Stories Tim Pratt (Night Shade Books)
Dagger Key and Other Stories Lucius Shepard (PS Publishing)

winner Edward Miller
Ruan Jia
Mikko Kinnunen
Stephan Martiniere
John Picacio

Special Award—Professional
winner Peter Crowther for PS Publishing
Allison Baker and Chris Roberson for MonkeyBrain Books
Alan Beatts and Jude Feldman for Borderlands Books
Gordon Van Gelder for F&SF
Jeremy Lassen and Jason Williams for Night Shade Books
Shawna McCarthy for Realms of Fantasy

Special Award—Non-professional
winner Midori Snyder and Terri Windling for Endicott Studios Website
G. S. Evans and Alice Whittenburg for Cafe Irreal
Stephen Jones, Editor for Travellers in Darkness: The Souvenir Book of the World Horror Convention 2007
John Klima for Electric Velocipede
Rosalie Parker and Raymond Russell for Tartarus Press

Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 2007 Awards Page | Forward to 2009 Awards Page

World Fantasy Award Judges | World Fantasy Award Winners - By Name | World Fantasy Award Search Engine

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.