World Fantasy Convention

World Fantasy Award Judges

2014 World Fantasy Awards Judges

We now have a slate of judges for the World Fantasy Awards. The 2014 judges covering the 2013 award year are:

  • Andy Duncan (38 Teaberry Lane; Frostburg MD 21532-2301)
  • Kij Johnson (
    University of Kansas; Department of English; 1445 Jayhawk Blvd., Room 3001; Lawrence, KS 66045; USA
    (Accepts PDF, DOC - not DOCX - for SHORT WORKS ONLY. Longer works must be submitted in hard copy.)
  • Oliver Johnson (Hodder; 338 Euston Road; London NW1 3BH; United Kingdom)
  • John Klima (moc.edepicolevcirtcele@rotide)
    205 S. Greenfield Avenue; Waukesha, WI 53186; USA
    (For SHORT FICTION ONLY prefers epub format; MOBI and PDF acceptable. Longer works must be submitted in hard copy.)
  • Liz Williams (40 Westhay Road; Meare; Glastonbury BA6 9TL; United Kingdom)

The Judges are chosen by the World Fantasy Awards Administration.

WFA Nominations & Submissions

Each year, the members of the current convention plus menbers of the past two conventions nominate two of the entries for each category on the awards ballot. The nominations ballot is posted on the website and is also mailed to members by the current convention organizing committee.

All books must have been published in 2013; magazines must have a 2013 cover date; only living authors and editors are eligible.

Fantasy Types:
All Fantasy is eligible, High fantasy, horror, sword & sorcery, supernatural, children's and YA books, and beyond.
Comics are eligible in the Special Award Professional category. We never made a change in the rules.

Life Achievement; Novel; Novella (10,001 to 40,000 words); Short Story (under 10,000 words); Anthology (multiple author - original or reprint - single or multiple editors); Collection (single author - original or reprint - single or multiple editors); Artist; Special Award Professional; Special Award Non-Professional.

Please note the nominees in the Life Achievement category will not be released. Only the winner's name will be announced in advance.

Materials to be considered for awards must be received, no later than June 1, 2014, by all five judges with an additional copy to the World Fantasy Awards Association, Peter Dennis Pautz, President, PO Box 43, Mukilteo, WA 98275-0043.

Please mark any packages as PROMOTIONAL MATERIALS — NOT FOR SALE OR RESALE — NO COMMERCIAL VALUE — WORLD FANTASY AWARDS MATERIALS. Also, please make sure to send a file copy of any and all materials to the Awards Administrator so a comprehensive list may be kept, as well as backup copies for any that are lost or misplaced. This is the only way the judges can consider all eligible items, and you can be sure that your work has been given fair attention.

World Fantasy Convention 2014

The Gahan Wilson-designed trophies will be presented to the winners at the convention, to be held Thursday, November 6 through Sunday, November 9, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency, Crystal City near Reagan Airport, 2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, Virginia, 22202, USA

Information regarding memberships can be found on the convention web site at or via email query at

Return to WFC Awards Page | World Fantasy Award Winners - By Name | World Fantasy Award Search Engine

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.