World Fantasy Convention

World Fantasy Convention Past Guests of Honor

The following is a list of the official, announced Guests of Honour for the WFC's through 2009's San Jose, California. Omissions are made of invitees who did not actually appear at past conventions. The designations of type of GoH (such as "GoH" versus "Artist") are those made by the conventions, which don't always assign guests to a specific category by profession or function.

The year links to that year's history listing.

Year Name Title
2013 Brian Aldiss GoH
1990 Susan Allison GoH
1989 Yoshitaka Amano GoH
1993 Poul Anderson GoH
1987 Piers Anthony GoH
1996 Ellen Asher GoH
1978 Alicia Austin Artist
2004 Betty Ballantine Publisher GoH
1988 Clive Barker Master of Ceremonies
1994 Jill Bauman Artist
1981 Peter S. Beagle GoH
1995 Rick Berry Artist
1992 Michael Bishop GoH
1995 Terry Bisson Writer GoH
1975 Robert Bloch GoH
1980 Robert Bloch Toastmaster
1983 Robert Bloch Toastmaster
1990 Robert Bloch Special Guest
1982 Joseph Payne Brennan GoH
2012 Patricia Briggs Special Guest
2007 Joseph Bruchac Special Guest
1995 Edward W. Bryant, Jr. Toastmaster
1989 Ginjer Buchanan Toastmaster
1986 Ramsey Campbell GoH
2002 Jonathan Carroll GoH
1997 Hugh B. Cave Special Guest
2001 Joel Champetier GoH
1997 R. Chetwynd-Hayes Special Guest
2012 John Clute GoH
2006 Glen Cook GoH
1993 Basil Copper Special Guest
2005 Kinuko Y. Craft Artist
1993 John Crowley GoH
2000 John Crowley GoH
2004 Ellen Datlow GoH
1989 Avram Davidson GoH
1990 L. Sprague de Camp GoH
2001 Charles de Lint Toastmaster
2012 Charles De Lint Special Guest
1999 Charles de Lint GoH
1999 Samuel R. Delany Special Guest
2006 Bradley Denton Toastmaster
1999 Leo & Diane Dillon GoH
2012 Larry Dixon Special Guest
2008 Tom Doherty GoH
1985 Stephen R. Donaldson GoH
1991 Stephen R. Donaldson Toastmaster
2006 Dave Duncan GoH
2014 Les Edwards GoH
1994 George Alec Effinger GoH
1997 Bob Eggleton Artist
1991 Susan & Harlan Ellison Special Guests
2007 Carol Emshwiller GoH
1995 Lloyd Arthur Eshbach Publisher GoH
2002 Dennis Etchison GoH
1992 John Farris GoH
1990 Raymond E. Feist Toastmaster
2014 Lail Finlay GoH
2011 Jo Fletcher GoH
1999 John M. Ford Toastmaster
1988 Michael Foreman Artist
1987 Frank Kelly Freas Artist
2010 Esther Friesner GoH
1981 Brian Froud Artist
1993 Neil Gaiman Toastmaster
2011 Neil Gaiman GoH
2003 W. Paul Ganley Publisher GoH
2001 Donato Giancola GoH
2006 Gary Gianni Robert E. Howard Artist Guest
2007 Jean Giraud (Moebius) Artist
2011 Parke Godwin GoH
1992 Robert Gould GoH
1979 Charles L. Grant Toastmaster
1982 Charles L. Grant Toastmaster
1986 Charles L. Grant GoH
1987 Charles L. Grant Toastmaster
1992 Martin H. Greenberg GoH
2008 Barbara Hambly GoH
2012 Elizabeth Hand GoH
2013 Joanne Harris GoH
2010 David Hartwell GoH
1988 James Herbert GoH
2013 Joe Hill GoH
2006 Robin Hobb GoH
1997 Robert Holdstock Master of Ceremonies
1998 Cecelia Holland Special Guest
2005 Arkham House Special Recognition
2012 Tanya Huff Special Guest
2000 K. W. Jeter GoH
1988 Diana Wynne Jones Special Guest
2004 Gwyneth Jones GoH
1984 Jeffrey Jones Artist
2002 Stephen Jones GoH
2005 Graham Joyce GoH
2007 Guy Gavriel Kay Master of Ceremonies
2014 Guy Gavriel Kay GoH
1979 Stephen King GoH
2012 Richard A. Kirk GoH
1994 Damon Knight GoH
2002 Kathe Koja GoH
2003 Allen Koszowski Artist
1996 Katherine Kurtz GoH
2012 Mercedes Lackey Special Guest
2009 Jay Lake Toastmaster
1996 Joe R. Lansdale GoH
2000 Joe R. Lansdale Toastmaster
1998 Richard Laymon Special Guest
2013 Alan Lee GoH
1984 Tanith Lee GoH
1989 Ursula K. LeGuin GoH
1978 Fritz Leiber GoH
1987 Ron & Val Lakey Lindahn Special Guests
2008 Todd Lockwood Artist
1979 Frank Belknap Long GoH
2006 Glenn Lord Editor
1996 Brian Lumley Toastmaster
2003 Brian Lumley GoH
1998 Richard A. Lupoff Toastmaster
2009 Richard A. Lupoff Special Guest
1982 Don Maitz Artist
1994 George R. R. Martin GoH
1977 Richard Matheson GoH
2013 Richard Matheson Honorary Guest
2013 Richard Christian Matheson Honorary Guest
1990 David Mattingly Artist
1992 Anne McCaffrey GoH
1989 Robert R. McCammon GoH
2011 Shawna McCarthy GoH
2002 Dave McKean GoH
2010 Dennis McKiernan GoH
1999 Patricia A. McKillip GoH
1976 Michael Moorcock GoH
1976 C. L. Moore GoH
2008 David Morrell GoH
1983 Rowena Morrill Artist
2007 Kim Newman GoH
2009 Garth Nix GoH
1987 Andre Norton Special Guest
1978 Andy Offut Toastmaster
2006 John Jude Palencar Artist
1986 J. K. Potter Artist
1994 Tim Powers GoH
1985 Victoria Poyser Artist
2004 Jennifer Roberson Toastmistress
1991 Arlin Robins Artist
1998 Frank M. Robinson Special Guest
1984 Spider Robinson Toastmaster
2007 Barbara & Christopher Roden Special Guest
2001 Fred Saberhagen GoH
2011 Ruth Sanderson GoH
2014 Stuart David Schiff GoH
1990 Julius Schwartz Special Guest
2007 George Scithers Special Guest
1995 Lucius Shepard Writer GoH
2009 Donald Sidney-Fryer Special Guest
1999 Robert Silverberg GoH
1997 Iain Sinclair GoH
2009 Lisa Snellings Artist
1989 S. P. Somtow GoH
1982 Peter Straub GoH
2005 Peter Straub Toastmaster
2009 Michael Swanwick GoH
2010 Darrell K. Sweet GoH
2007 Lisa Tuttle GoH
1980 Boris Vallejo Artist
1980 Jack Vance GoH
2009 Ann & Jeff VanderMeer GoH
2000 Charles Vess Artist
1981 Karl Edward Wagner Toastmaster
1987 Karl Edward Wagner Special Guest
1995 Howard Waldrop Writer GoH
1996 Ron Walotsky Artist
1985 Evangeline Walton Special Guest
2005 Robert Weinberg GoH
1983 Manly Wade Wellman GoH
1979 Michael Whelan Artist
1994 Kate Wilhelm GoH
2008 Tad Williams Toastmaster
2011 Connie Willis GoH
1990 F. Paul Wilson GoH
1975 Gahan Wilson Toastmaster
1976 Gahan Wilson Toastmaster
1977 Gahan Wilson Toastmaster
1998 Gahan Wilson GoH
2005 Terri Windling GoH
1986 Douglas E. Winter Toastmaster
2003 Douglas E. Winter Master of Ceremonies
2012 Gary K. Wolfe Toastmaster
1983 Gene Wolfe GoH
2004 Janny Wurts GoH
1985 Chelsea Quinn Yarbro Toastmaster
1984 Jane Yolen GoH
2014 Mary Robinette Kowal Toastmaster
1993 Roger Zelazny GoH
2009 Zoran Zivkovic Special Guest
Search For  
Guest of Honor
First Name, Last Name

Leaving a Category unselected searches for all choices.

Retrospective | Awards | Convention Themes

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.